A Couch Potato Bros Yearly Update

Greetings once again, readers! Since we’ve come to a new year on this planet, I figured it would be a good time to talk with you openly a bit about this project that I started early in 2015.

I’ve always wanted to talk with people about my personal thoughts and feelings regarding popular entertainment. I started this website last year as a fun way to catalog my thoughts and to share them with anybody who would listen. I had no idea that it would remotely take off in any way whatsoever. In reality, who gives a steamy dook what some self-indulged yahoo from Iowa thinks about Movies, TV and Video Games?? There is an answer to this: Some people care.

In my first year, I (with a few well-received contributions from some of my friends) published 98 posts. In total, we had 2,430 unique visitors, and a surprisingly large 3,767 page views. This may not seem too impressive to a lot of bloggers out there, but to me this is pretty groundbreaking stuff. The power of the internet knows no bounds. I can’t begin to express my gratitude for each and every one of you who have taken the time to read anything I care to write about. It astonishes me every day. The fact that any of you continue to read my content day after day (long after my most recent post) truly warms my heart. So, thanks. You guys rock!

That being said, my activity on the Couch Potato Bros Blog has suffered for a few months now. There have been several reasons for this. The first is that in the tail end of October, I got married to my lovely wife Lindsey (who has contributed a few articles on this very site about what it’s like to date a gamer when you have very little interest in the medium). Obviously, the small details of a wedding tend to take up quite a bit of time, leaving you with little for yourself to do much of anything — including writing for a blog that currently grants me zero compensation.

Secondly, Fallout 4 came out. I know, this is a terrible excuse. I could have been writing about a lot of shows and movies I saw in November, but it had been 5 years since the last Fallout. I needed to get sucked into that world to fully appreciate the wasteland of the Commonwealth. And boy, did I. After over 100 hours, I finally maxed all achievements for the game, so now I can rest easily with a less grindy game experience.

Finally, during the tail end of 2015, my friend Billy and I decided we wanted to try and pursue creating Let’s Play videos on YouTube. You may have noticed a great deal of my final posts on this site from 2015 were links to our YouTube videos. We’re trying to better ourselves, but increasing your viewership is a really slow process. The process of even making one video is surprisingly time-consuming.

If you are a fellow blogger in this community, you know that writing regular can be a demanding task. In our consumption heavy society, it’s easy to just consume content and move onto the next thing. Formulating your thoughts and expressing them to others on a regular basis is no small endeavor. It takes time and energy, no matter how rewarding it is.

I don’t want to make too many excuses. You want content, and I want to give it to you. During this year, everybody involved in Couch Potato Bros are going to take some time to decide what we want to do with our brand. I enjoy writing articles, and I also enjoy making videos. We’d like to do our best when it comes to consistency, and provide you with as much content as we can on a regular basis.

You can help us with that as well. Let us know what Couch Potato Bros content you’ve particularly enjoyed, and what you’d like to see more of. We want to be better, and you are all the key to helping us do so. I’ll be posting more articles fairly regularly over the next few weeks, and we’re working on some new videos as well. Until all of that happens, thanks for taking the time to listen to me ramble. We’re excited for what 2016 has to offer us. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

